Summer school on social banking: a reason why…

Last summer 2010 I went to florence to attend the Summer School on Social Banking, organized in my Country by the Institute which is involved in best practices in economics.

I started studying  economy, ethics and sustainable development in 2009, when I decided to enroll in the master’s degree in conflict management (interreligious and intercultural)..As I have a degree in economics (banking and financing) I decided to deepen the microcredit, and of course, responsible investment.

After my stage I had the chance to know the Institute for Social banking, based in Germany. The Summer School’s week was the best holiday I have ever had after the trip to Petra!! (where I tried the Stendhal syndrome).

During this special week I met people who came from all over the world and did various jobs (not only bankers). Young and old, people with great experience and other early in their careers..motivated and bored (as well in the world!!).  We had many classes, workshops, discussions, open space groups..We had a special lesson in Florence, in the town council hall (Salone de’Dugento), and another just in front of the dome of the cathedral..The first example of social investment. The first time someone decided to rise money to built something wonderful to show the world…Social banking, of course!!

Maybe I  heard a lot of things I already knew: I have read many book and studied many documents about Social Economy…But the way in which the subjects were exposed was fantastic for the memory and to give me the charge to continue on this line..

Just a little suggestion…When I went to Ethiopia for a journey of cooperation, I could understand how our efforts can help Africa to recover, return to that greatcontingency which gave rise to man (Lucy is in the museum in Addis Ababa).

We need to study the development of our Planet along with all the peoples of the Earth.We must think about responsible and sustainable development. We need a common knowledge, a common language of communication and digital platforms to stay connected.

Not only are more aid to build wells. Now they need education, schools, qualified teachers able to form new generations who have mobile phones, Nike shoes, but still live in Tukul.

The next Summer School will be in Canterbury, and the title is “Money rules the world. Who rules the money?” ..

We rules our money and we must decide to use the money in the righy way, far from the speculation that caused the failure of many banks and forced the Government to cover losses..

The week of Canterbury is a great opportunity to understand, to learn and to becomeresponsible citizens. we can not discuss and jack, if the first things you do not know!

Leave a comment